Time to shoot with IMS-5 vs Planix Pro

Hi all, I’m still rockin my IMS-5 camera and the sale on the PlanixPro is looking great and I’m going to pull the trigger on it. So my question for people who have used the IMS-5 and Planix, what are the shooting times like? Does the Planix take your shooting time down by a third? Since you’re not shooting three photos per panorama? I’d love to hear about it

I made the switch a year ago - and I’ve been very pleased. It’s a bit faster doing shoots, but I found the real time savings was in the pano alignments. Be sure to review their materials on ensuring you can “see” one pano to the next and its auto alignment is spot on. I just do minimal editing in Stitch. You will love it.

1 Like

I am new to all of this and I am planning to start a part time business next year doing this on my days off (Saturday and Sunday). This is the lowest price I have seen it at and yes from what others have said in the past I expect that the shooting time will be reduced by at least 25% when compared to the IMS-5.

That said the IMS-5 does generate better pictures but most people won’t care because the quality of Planix Pro is still very good and being able to reduce the time you have to spend on their property capturing the pictures is a benefit for you and your client.

1 Like

I shot with an IMS-5 for many years. (And prior to that, a Model T – I mean IMS-4. Don’t trip on that cable, which I did once. :pensive:) I’ve switched to Planix.

The Planix will save you lots of time both onsite and in post. If I had to, I could probably shoot a property twice as fast with a Planix vs IMS-5. You save time from capturing full 360° panos at once (vs three camera rotations with the IMS-5), from the Planix magically aligning most panos on the floor plan for you as you shoot (vs manual alignment), and later in Stitch.