Missing square feet in Measurement

I am a real estate agent here in beautiful BC and mostly doing Iguides for our own listings… Using the Planix system… Seems like every one I measure comes up short compared to the strata plan or BC assessment… Am I doing something wrong with the wall thickness usually 6 or 8 inches, or something else I should be doing. Any advice greatly appreciated as I have a couple of commercial shoots coming up and I need to be accurate…

The wall thickness can definitely affect it. But depending the property size it wouldn’t be a ton IMO. I do 8 on every property and have never had an issue.

im not sure how (inaccurate) it could be. If its within a few % i would argue maybe thicker walls or not scanning areas that they are counting as Sq/ft.

As far as I understand Wall thickness should have nothing to do with the square footage. The system is measuring the inside surfaces of the walls. So if your walls are 4 ft thick or 2 inches thick the square footage of the building will / should be the same. The wall thickness is simply used to determine the main building exterior.
Main Building Interior: 1120.35 sq ft
Main Building Exterior: 1191.82 sq ft

The exterior area will never be 100% accurate because it is based on 1 measurement. The thickness of the wall where you measure it - generally the front door. In a brick front house with vinyl siding on the other 3 walls you will have a 9-10 inch wall on the front and a 7 inch wall on the other 3.

If your interior measurements are smaller than the numbers on the assessment I would say the assessment is based on exterior size and is not a valid comparison.

1 Like

Sorry i forgot to mention that, yes the only number that should be effected by the wall thickness is the

Main Building Exterior: 1191.82 sq ft