Higher resolution camera

I am really impressed by almost everything about iGUIDE. The main thing I am missing is an option for better resolution. When the PLANIX came out I was hoping for a camera upgrade rather than a lower quality camera.

I realize higher resolution would mean higher hosting costs, and maybe longer loading times, but I would not mind paying a premium price for both the camera and drafting (or hosting) for a premium camera.

Any other operators out there that agree?

2 Likes

Agreed. I also enjoy using the Planix. But I noticed the yellows and blues are way more pronounced than they were with the Canon. I’m definitely making more adjustments than I was before.

Agreed. I’m surprised that the planix doesn’t have better resolution. I’ve been using the Theta Z for several years and the results are mostly fabulous.

Is it being used at a lower resolution then it’s capable of?

1 Like

I’m glad I’m not the only one who noticed this. The images just aren’t very clear. I was thinking the novelty of exploring a space virtually might overcome the low fidelity of the images but if the camera is capable of doing better, we should make use of that. I have to adjust panos a lot to get them where I like them. I haven’t had any completed iGuides come back as I’m still learning the system. Does the quality increase on the finished iGuide?

The new Planix comes with the Ricoh Theta Z1 360 camera. Here’s the resolution specs: