104,000 sqft mall

Hi everyone,

I’m new to iGuide so forgive me if this has been covered at length before.

I have a 104,000 sqft mall that the owner wants mapped. About one third is warehouse space. I’m trying to determine what I will be charged by planitar to process this project. It looks to me like .02 per square foot is the rate, so that would be $2080.00 approx. without including anything for my time. Does that sound correct?

Also, it occurs to me that aligning the scans as I go may be difficult. The space surely won’t fit on the display in the app. Anyone with experience on a large space like this?

Thanks,
Mike

1 Like

Hey Mike,

I’ve done a few spaces over 100k sq ft and it’s surprisingly easy if you follow a pattern. You can see in the image below that I’ve drawn some lines to represent my route through the space. I tried to move in predictable straight lines and work my way across the space in a zigzag pattern. The route you choose will depend heavily on the shape and size of the space you are capturing. The area covered by the green lines represents about 50K square feet and it took 30 panormas to do it. Following a predictable pattern will help you keep track of where you are and what you are doing while shooting but it will also allow you to more easily check your work in Stitch when you get home.

Here is the iGUIDE for reference:

To make data alignment easier you can face the camera in the same direction for the start of every panorama. This will cause the shot direction indicators in survey the be facing the same direction every time. The initial shot direction determines what you see first when a panorama is loaded so be careful to optimize the initial direction for visually important panoramas.

Use the Map Actions/Grow Map option, doing so will double the size of the map and allow you to work on larger spaces. I’ve easily fit a space over 200K sq ft on my phone’s screen with no problems.